غلق
غلق
غلق
مايو 1, 2020

احتجاجات وتضخّم وفيروس كورونا: لبنان يتأقلم

تقلّصت فرص الشباب بسبب الاحتجاجات العنيفة، وتضاءلت بسبب وباء كوفيد-19، ثم تآكلت أكثر فأكثر بسبب التضخّم. ويشعر اللاجئون بالعبء النفسي المترتب عن ذلك.

سواء كنت لبنانياً أو فلسطينياً أو سورياً، أنت تعاني بمجرد كونك شاباً في لبنان هذه الأيام. غالباً ما يقع العبء الأكبر من الاضطرابات السياسية الحالية والاقتصاد المنهار والإغلاق الكامل للبلاد على كاهل الشباب. ومع ذلك، وبالنسبة للاجئين، فإن لتلك التحديات تأثيراً أكبر بكثير.

يُمنع على السوريين في لبنان دخول معظم قطاعات سوق العمل، ولا يُسمح لهم رسمياً بالعمل إلا في قطاعات الزراعة والبناء والتنظيف. تسببت الاحتجاجات العنيفة والتضخّم المرتفع الذي وصل إلى 60 بالمئة وكذلك إغلاق البلاد، إلى تجفيف معظم الاقتصادات غير الرسمية والتي يعمل فيها 92 بالمئة من اللاجئين. وقد أدّى انخفاض قيمة الليرة اللبنانية إلى ارتفاع هائل في الأسعار، ما يعني أن الكثير من السوريين أصبحوا بلا عمل أو دخل، والأهم من ذلك، بلا أمل.

محمد علي صالحة، خريج أشعة لبناني ويعمل في مستشفى زحلة، يشرح كيف أثّر وباء كورونا على حياته (حقوق الصورة: © 2020، سبارك).

عندما استطلعنا أوضاع طلّاب “سبارك” الحاليين، وجدنا أن 40 بالمئة منهم قد طلبوا دعماً نفسياً واجتماعياً. منذ انتشار وباء كورونا، بدأ محمد علي صالحة، وهو خرّيج أشعة لبناني تخرّج من مركز عمر المختار التعليمي في البقاع، بالعمل في مستشفى زحلة. ويقول محمد: “يؤثّر وباء كورونا على حياتنا وعلى أُسرنا، وكموظفين في مجال الرعاية الصحية في المستشفيات، لا يمكننا رؤية ومقابلة أحبائنا”.

على مدار 10 أسابيع، توفّر “سبارك” الدعم النفسي والاجتماعي اليومي عبر تقنية الفيديو على الإنترنت. يتم ربط الطلّاب بأخصائي نفسي مُعتمد يقدّم لهم جلسات حول الرفاه النفسي والتأقلم مع القلق والاكتئاب وتقنيات اليقظة الذهنية وإدارة الوقت.

يقول أحد الطلاب: “تساعدنا تلك الجلسات على متابعة دراستنا في هذه الظروف الصعبة وتخفّف الضغط النفسي الذي قد نشعر به لكوننا مشغولين دائماً بدراسة محاضراتنا”. كذلك تمكّن خطوط المساعدة الهاتفية المخصصة، والمتاحة بين الساعة الـ10 صباحاً والـ4 عصراً، طلّاب “سبارك” من الاتصال بفريق محلي والحصول على المساعدة والدعم في حل المشاكل وإيصالهم بمزودي الخدمة الآخرين إن كانوا بحاجة إلى ذلك.

حصل التحوّل الحالي نحو خدمات الإنترنت في وقت مبكر في لبنان. وعندما بدأت الاضطرابات المدنية تترسّخ في كافة أنحاء البلاد، أغلقت كل معاهد التعليم العالي العامة والخاصة أبوابها. وبعد قرابة ستة أشهر من الاحتجاجات، أجرت “سبارك” تعديلاً على برامجها لمواصلة دعم الطلاب وروّاد الأعمال والمشروعات الريادية عن بُعد.

يقول أحد الطلاب حول محاضرات الجامعة عبر الإنترنت: “أجدها مفيدة بالفعل، لأنك لا تفوّت أي شيء منها. يتم تسجيل كل شيء، لذا وحتى إن فاتتك المحاضرة، يمكنك إعادة مشاهدتها في أي وقت تريد. أصبح لديّ أيضاً وقت إضافي للدراسة، إذ كنت أضطّر للتوجّه يومياً من جنوب لبنان إلى بيروت لحضور المحاضرات”.

حالياً، هناك حوالي 500 طالب سوري ولبناني وفلسطيني في لبنان مسجّلين للحصول على الدعم من “سبارك”، تم تمكينهم للوصول إلى محاضرات عبر الإنترنت لتعلّم اللغة الإنكليزية والتدرّب على المهارات الشخصية والمهارات الرقمية وتلقّي الاستشارات الأكاديمية. يتم حل المشاكل الناشئة عن إطلاق الأنظمة الجديدة بشكل مستمر. فعلى سبيل المثال، وعند استطلاع آراء الطلاب في لبنان، قال 81 بالمئة إنّهم يشاركون بالمحاضرات من الهواتف الذكية (بينما أكّد 12 بالمئة فقط أنهم يشاركون بها عبر أجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة)، لذلك يتم تحسين الإعدادات التقنية للمحاضرات الافتراضية لتلائم الهواتف الذكية. كذلك أبلغ الطلاب عن مشاكل تتعلق بتوقيت بث المحاضرات عبر الإنترنت. يوضّح أحد الطلاب ذلك بقوله: “يُرجى الأخذ بعين الاعتبار ضرورة تعديل مواعيد المحاضرات والامتحانات، لأنه، وفي بعض الأحيان، يتم تنظيمها في أوقات لا تتوفر فيها الكهرباء أو الاتصال بالإنترنت”.

ورغم تحديات التنفيذ الأولى، يستمرّ شركاء “سبارك” المحليون المتفانون في التكيّف مع الوضع المتغيّر باستمرار. فعلى سبيل المثال، وفي كانون الأول الماضي، حصل عشرة طلاب على تدريب وتمويل أوّلي لأفكار خطط مشروعاتهم الريادية بعد فوزهم في منافسة أفضل خطط المشروعات الريادية بتمويل مالي من اليانصيب الخيري الهولندي ووزارة الخارجية الهولندية والبنك الإسلامي للتنمية وجمعية الشيخ عبد الله النوري الخيرية. ومع حؤول الإغلاق التام للبلاد دون التقائهم شخصياً، قامت منظمة “إنجاز لبنان“، وهي شريكة محلية لـ”سبارك”، بنقل التدريب إلى الإنترنت.

 

برنامج التمكين الاقتصادي بتمويل من البنك الإسلامي للتنمية وجمعية الشيخ عبد الله النوري الخيرية، بالتعاون مع منظمة "إنجاز لبنان" (حقوق الصورة: © 2019، سبارك).
برنامج التمكين الاقتصادي بتمويل من البنك الإسلامي للتنمية وجمعية الشيخ عبد الله النوري الخيرية، بالتعاون مع منظمة "إنجاز لبنان" (حقوق الصورة: © 2019، سبارك).
برنامج التمكين الاقتصادي بتمويل من البنك الإسلامي للتنمية وجمعية الشيخ عبد الله النوري الخيرية، بالتعاون مع منظمة "إنجاز لبنان" (حقوق الصورة: © 2019، سبارك).

تسببت الأوضاع في كافة أنحاء لبنان في وضع ضغط هائل على الشباب، لاسيّما اللاجئين الذين يحاولون إعادة بناء حياتهم، لكنّ البعض منهم قرّر التعامل مع الأمور بنفسه. فقال أحد الطلاب: “هذه التجربة جديدة بالنسبة إليّ وهي تجعلني أكثر استقلالية، أضف إلى ذلك أنه من خلال التعلّم عبر الإنترنت، بدأت باكتساب مهارات جديدة مثل كيفية استخدام الحاسوب والبرامج ومنصات التعلّم”. في لبنان، يتضامن مع أولئك الشباب العديد من علماء النفس والمحاضرين والأساتذة والمدرّبين ومدربي المشروعات الريادية والمنظمات المحلية وكذلك “سبارك”، فرغم هذه الظروف، نستمر في تقديم الدعم لهم في رحلتهم لتحقيق النجاح المهني.

Close
Close
Close
May 1, 2020

Protests, Inflation and COVID-19 – Lebanon Adapts

Opportunities for youth are being constricted by violent protests, stunted by COVID-19 and eroded by inflation. Refugees are feeling the psychological toll.

Whether you are Lebanese, Palestinian or Syrian, if you are a young person in Lebanon right now, you are suffering. The brunt of the current political unrest, a crashing economy and now a complete countrywide lockdown is overwhelmingly born by youth. Yet, for refugee populations, the challenges are having a greater impact.

Syrians in Lebanon are denied entry to most sectors of the labor market and are formally only permitted to work in agriculture, construction and cleaning. The violent protests, rising inflation of up to 60 percent and lockdown have dried up most informal economies, where 92 percent of working refugees are employed. The devaluation of the Lebanese pound has seen prices skyrocket, meaning many Syrians are without work, income and more importantly, without hope.

 

Mohammad Ali Salha, a Lebanese Radiology graduate, working at a Zahle hospital explains how he is affected by COVID-19 © 2020, SPARK

When surveying SPARK’s current students, 40 percent asked for psychosocial support. Since the COVID-19 outbreak, Mohammad Ali Salha, a Lebanese Radiology graduate from the Omar Al-Mokhtar Educational Center in Bekaa, has been working at a Zahle hospital. He says, “Coronavirus pandemic is affecting our families and lives. As healthcare workers in hospitals, we cannot see and meet our beloved ones”. 

Over 10 weeks, SPARK is providing daily psychosocial support via online video conferencing. Students are connected with a certified psychologist, who delivers group sessions in wellbeing, coping with anxiety and depression, mindfulness techniques and time management.

One student said, “It helps us to follow our studies in these difficult circumstances, and relieve the psychological pressure that we might feel as we are always busy with studying our lectures.” Dedicated daily telephone helplines between 10:00 and 16:00 also allow SPARK’s students to call the local team and receive support, help to solve problems, and onward connections to other service providers should they require it.

The current shift towards online services came early in Lebanon. When the civil unrest began to take hold across the country, all public and private higher education institutes closed their doors. After nearly six months of protests, SPARK has adjusted its programming to continue to support students, entrepreneurs and businesses remotely.

One student said of online university classes, “I actually find it helpful because you don’t miss anything. Everything is recorded so even if you missed the class, you can re-watch it whenever you need. Also, I have extra time for studying because I used to travel from the southern parts of Lebanon to Beirut every day to attend classes. This took a lot of time and now with online education, I’m saving that time.”

Now, the almost 500 currently enrolled Syrian, Lebanese and Palestinian students SPARK supports in Lebanon, also have access to online English classes, soft skills training, digital skills and academic counselling. Teething problems with setting up these new systems are continuously being ironed out. For example, when surveyed, 81 percent of the students in Lebanon said they had access to a smartphone (while only 12 percent had access to a laptop) so virtual courses are being optimised for mobile use. Students also reported issues with timings of online classes. “Please consider adjusting the times for lectures and exams as sometimes they are conducted at times when there is no internet or electricity”, explained one student.

Despite the early implementation challenges, SPARK’s dedicated local partners continue to adapt to the ever-changing situation. For example, in December last year, ten students were awarded coaching and seed funding for their business plan ideas during a business plan competition, financed by the Dutch Postcode Loterij, Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Islamic Development Bank and Sheikh Abdullah Alnouri Charity Society. Once the country-wide lockdown prevented them from physically meeting, Injaz Lebanon, SPARK’s local partner, shifted coaching online.

 

The Economic Empowerment Program funded by the Islamic Development Bank and the Sheikh Abdullah Al-Nouri Charitable Association, in cooperation with the "Injaz Lebanon" organization (Photo credit: © 2019, SPARK).
The Economic Empowerment Program funded by the Islamic Development Bank and the Sheikh Abdullah Al-Nouri Charitable Association, in cooperation with the "Injaz Lebanon" organization (Photo credit: © 2019, SPARK).
The Economic Empowerment Program funded by the Islamic Development Bank and the Sheikh Abdullah Al-Nouri Charitable Association, in cooperation with the "Injaz Lebanon" organization (Photo credit: © 2019, SPARK).

The situation throughout Lebanon has put huge pressure on young people, especially refugees who are trying to rebuild their lives, but some are taking matters into their own hands. One student said, “This experience is new and it makes me more independent. Add to that, with online learning, I am acquiring new skills such as how to use the computer, education platforms and programs”. Standing in solidarity with the youth in Lebanon are the many psychologists, lecturers, professors, trainers, business coaches, local organizations and SPARK, as we support them in their journey to successful careers, despite the circumstances.