غلق
غلق
غلق
نوفمبر 4, 2020

رقمنة نظام التعليم في العراق

لأول مرة على الإطلاق، أجرت الجامعات العراقية هذا العام امتحانات عبر الإنترنت. يركز التعليم العالي في العراق عادةً على الكتب المدرسية والسبورات بدلاً من تقنيات التعليم الديناميكية أو المختلطة. وفي الحقيقة، حتى وقتٍ قريب لم يتم الاعتراف بالامتحانات عبر الإنترنت أو منحها المصداقية ولم تبذل سوى القليل من الجهود و لم تقدم التمويلات لتجديد هذه الممارسات المتعَبة.

وفي عام 2014، عانت جامعة الموصل من دمار مادي واسع النطاق خلال الهجمات التي قام بها تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية حيث تم تدمير ما يقارب 80% من مباني الكلية، ومعداتها وبنيتها التحتية بشكلٍ جزئي أو كلي. وأدى حرق المكتبة المركزية إلى فقدان أكثر من مليون وثيقة إلى الأبد. وعلى هذا النحو، واجهت الجامعة تحديات ضخمة في إعادة إحياء مركزها التعليمي المرموق.

تدمير تنظيم الدولية الإسلامية لجامعة الموصل– الصورة مقدمة من جامعة الموصل
تدمير تنظيم الدولية الإسلامية لجامعة الموصل– الصورة مقدمة من جامعة الموصل
تدمير تنظيم الدولية الإسلامية لجامعة الموصل– الصورة مقدمة من جامعة الموصل

ومع ذلك، أدت جائحة كوفيد-19 إلى زيادة الانفتاح على التغيير والرقمنة بين المؤسسات التقليدية بشكلٍ عالٍ. وبناءً على طلب شركاء سبارك الجامعيين في العراق، تمت إضافة التعليم عبر الإنترنت إلى برنامج وظائف ومنظومات جديدة، الذي تم تمويله من قبل وزارة الخارجية الهولندية لبناء قدرات الجامعات العراقية من خلالهم تحولهم الرقمي.

إن الانقطاعات المنتظمة للتيار الكهربائي والوصول الموثوق إلى الإنترنت أو المقدم بأسعار معقولة يمثل التحديات المواجَهَة في كل أنحاء العراق وخاصة في الموصل. ولقد أنشأ أساتذة جامعة الموصل صندوقاً لمساعدة الطلاب في شراء حزم البيانات مما زاد معدلات حضور المحاضرات الجديدة عبر الإنترنت أكثر من 70 بالمئة، وهي نسبة يمكن مقارنتها بمعدل حضور المحاضرات شخصياً (يصل ل 75 بالمئة)

ولمساعدة انتقال الجامعات إلى العالم الرقمي، قامت سبارك بإنشاء سلسلة من الجلسات عبر الإنترنت جمعت عدداً من الجامعات العراقية مع خبراء التعليم الدولي لتبادل خبرات التعليم عبر الإنترنت. وانضم أكثر من 300 معلّم من 10 جامعات من جميع أنحاء العراق، بما في ذلك جامعة الموصل وجامعة بغداد وجامعة أربيل للفنون التطبيقية، لمعرفة المزيد عن العملية.

المعلمون من 10 جامعات من جميع أنحاء العراق ينضمون إلى جلسة زووم.

ترأس البروفيسور جوخان سلاهتار أوغلو، مدير مركز التعليم عن بعد بجامعة ميدبول في إسطنبول، جلسة تتعلق بأفضل الممارسات للامتحانات عبر الإنترنت. قال فيها: “في الظروف العادية، يستغرق إعداد المعلمين والطلاب أسابيعاً أو شهور أو حتى سنوات في بعض الأحيان، ولكن الفضل يعود للجائحة حيث أنها شكلت دافعاً جيداً جداً للقيام بذلك خلال أسبوع واحد!” ولقد قدّم مشاركة يقول فيها: “يقول بعض المعلمين أنهم لا يؤمنون بالتعليم عن بعد أو بالاختبار عن بعد، إلا أن كل هؤلاء الذين كانوا ضد هذا النوع من الأشياء يقومون بفعل هذا [الآن].

عندما قامت جامعة الموصل بإغلاق امتحاناتها عبر الإنترنت لأول مرة خلال الصيف، قالت الدكتورة رواء قاشا، الأستاذة في جامعة الموصل ومديرة الشؤون الخارجية: “من أكثر الأشياء فائدة تبادل النصائح والخبرات. حيث كنا قادرين على إسقاط هذا ضمن سياقنا، [على سبيل المثال]، في طريقة تصميم الأسئلة للامتحانات عبر الإنترنت وفي اختلافها عن النوع التقليدي للأسئلة”.

أمي تريدني أن أصبح مهندساً” 

بالرغم من التقدُّم السريع المحرز مع بناء القدرات الرقمية للمؤسسات، يمكن القول بأن المقاومة الأكثر تحدياً للإصلاح في التعليم العالي تأتي من الشباب أنفسهم.

تعني الضغوط المجتمعية لدراسة الموضوعات المرموقة تقليدياً مثل الهندسة أو الطب أن الموضوعات المهنية يتم تجاهلها أو النظر إليها بازدراء إلى حدٍ كبير على الرغم من وجود الدليل على أن تلك المؤهلات من موضوعات مثل التسويق وتطوير مواقع الإنترنت من المحتمل أن ينتج عنها ربح وظائف بعد التخرج.

قالت سراب، وهي طالبة هندسة ميكانيكية كردية: “لقد كان أحد أحلامي أن أصبح مهندسة، وأن يطلق عليَّ لقب مهندسة. وفي كردستان، من المحتمل أن يكون المهندس أو الطبيب مهمان جداً وأنهم [المجتمع] جميعهم يريدونك أن تصبح أحد الاثنين. ولكن المشكلة الأكبر في كردستان هي الوظائف وإيجاد العمل. فالمستقبل ليس بساطع”.

وبشكلٍ مشابه، يحتاج الخريجون الشباب إلى فرص عادلة لكسب خبرة تعتمد على عمل بدون اتصالات وإن العراق يفتقر ثقافة التدريب. 

تدريبات رقمية 

من خلال استجابة سبارك لكوفيد19 من أجل الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة في العراق، تتوفر حزمة دعم للشركات الرقمية المتأثرة بالأزمة. وتتكون الحزمة من منح مالية صغيرة، وتدريب وتمرين، بالإضافة إلى مكون التدريب الرقمي المبتكر. وسيتم تزويد الشباب الأكراد والسوريين والعراقيين العاطلين عن العمل بفترة تدريب على الإنترنت من المنزل لمدة ستة أشهر، حيث أنهم سيدعمون الشركات التي تنمو باحتياجاتهم الرقمية.

 

يمكّن البرنامج المفيد للطرفين الشركات والشركات الناشئة من توسيع نطاق رقمنتها خلال فترة كوفيد-19. كما يسمح للشباب باكتساب خبرة عملية ومهارات رقمية خلال فترة ارتفاع معدلات البطالة بشكلٍ غير معقول.

وبرغم المصاعب العديدة القاسية التي تواجه أجيال الشباب في مسيرتهم التعليمية نحو التوظيف، فإن قطاع التعليم العالي يسير الآن نحو التحول الرقمي. ولقد أصبح النظام التعليمي التقليدي متمحوراً بشكل أكثر حول الطالب. وفي الوقت ذاته يمكن للخريجين الذين ليس لديهم خبرة عملية أن يقوموا بتعزيز مهاراتهم الرقمية على الرغم من الجائحة العالمية.

Close
Close
Close
August 31, 2020

Digitising the education system in Iraq

For the first time ever, Iraqi universities this year conducted online exams. Higher education in Iraq is typically focused around text books and blackboards, rather than dynamic or blended learning techniques. In fact, until recently online examinations were not acknowledged or given credibility, and little effort or funding has gone into regenerating these tired practices.

In 2014, the University of Mosul suffered extensive physical destruction during attacks by Islamic State (IS) and almost 80 percent of the faculty buildings, equipment and infrastructure were partially or completely destroyed. The burning of the central library saw over one million documents lost forever. As such, the university faced huge challenges in resurrecting its once-prestigious educational hub.

Destruction of the University of Mosul by Islamic State | Photo provided by University of Mosul
Destruction of the University of Mosul by Islamic State | Photo provided by University of Mosul
Destruction of the University of Mosul by Islamic State | Photo provided by University of Mosul

However, the COVID-19 pandemic has led to an increased openness to change and digitisation among highly traditional institutions. Upon the request of SPARK’s university partners in Iraq, online education was added to the new Jobs & Perspectives programme, financed by the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs, to build the capacity of Iraqi universities through their digital transformation. 

Regular power cuts and access to reliable or affordable internet are challenges faced across Iraq but especially in Mosul. A fund was set up by professors from the University of Mosul to assist students with purchasing data packages and as a result attendance rates of the new online lectures was over 70 percent, which is comparable to the average attendance rate of in-person lectures (75 percent). 

In order to aid the universities’ transition to the digital sphere, SPARK set up a series of online sessions between Iraqi universities and international education experts to share experiences of online learning. Over 300 educators from 10 universities from across Iraq, including the University of Mosul, University of Baghdad and Erbil Polytechnic University, joined to learn more about the process.

Educators from 10 universities from across Iraq join Zoom session

Prof. Gokhan Silahtaroglu, Manager of the Distance Learning Center for Medipol University in Istanbul, led a session on best practices for online exams. “In normal conditions, it takes weeks, sometimes months, sometimes years, to prepare instructors and students. But thanks to the pandemic, it was a very good motivation to do it in one week!” He shared: “Some teachers say they don’t believe in distant learning or examining. But all those people who were against this kind of thing are [now] doing it.”

As the University of Mosul closed its first ever online exams over the summer, Dr Rawaa Qasha, professor at UoM and Director of foreign affairs, said: “The most useful thing was the tips and experience sharing. We were able to project this onto our context. [For example], how to design questions for online exams and how it differs from the traditional type helped me a lot personally”.

“My mother wants me to be an Engineer”

Despite the fast progress with building the digital capacities of institutions, arguably the most challenging resistance to reformation within higher education comes from youth themselves.

Societal pressures to study traditionally prestigious subjects such as Engineering or Medicine mean that vocational subjects are largely ignored or looked down upon, despite the evidence being that qualifications from subjects like marketing and website development are much more likely to result in gainful employment after graduation.

Saraab, a Kurdish Mechanical Engineering student said: “It was one of my dreams to be an Engineer, to be called an Engineer. In Kurdistan, probably Engineering and Doctor are so important here and they [society] all want you to become one, especially parents. The biggest problem in Kurdistan is jobs, finding a job. The future is not bright.”

Similarly, young graduates lack fair opportunities to gain work-based experience without connections and since Iraq lacks an internship culture. 

Digital Internships

 

Through SPARK’s COVID-19 response for SMEs in Iraq, a support package is available for digital companies affected by the crisis. The package consists of small financial grants, training and coaching, plus an innovative ‘digital internship’ component. Unemployed Kurdish, Syrian and Iraqi youth will be provided with a home-based online internship for six months, where they will support growing companies with their digital needs.

 

The mutually beneficial programme enables companies and startups to scale up their digitisation during COVID-19 and allows young people to gain hands-on experience and digital skills during a period of unfathomably high unemployment.

 

Despite many relentless hardships, generations of young people have faced in their journey through education towards employment, the higher education sector is now on a fast track to digitisation. The traditional educational system is becoming more student-centred. At the same time, graduates without work experience can boost their digital skills, despite a global pandemic.