غلق
غلق
غلق
أكتوبر 17, 2019

بين الحروب، مزارعو الريف في اليمن وجنوب السودان يتحوّلون إلى روّاد أعمال

احتفالاً بمرور 25 عاماً على تأسيس “سبارك”

غالباً ما يتحمّل مزارعو الريف والأشخاص الأمّيون وطأة الفقر في المناطق الهشة أو المتأثرة بالصراعات، مقارنةً بباقي السكّان. في اليمن وجنوب السودان، لطالما واجه الناس لفترة طويلة انعدام الأمن الغذائي ونقص فرص العمل، ليس بسبب نقص الأراضي الصالحة لزراعة المحاصيل، ولكن بسبب استمرار حالة عدم الاستقرار السياسي من حولهم.

عام 2012، بدأت “سبارك” زراعة البذور الأولى لبرامجنا لدعم المشروعات الريادية الزراعية في اليمن وجنوب السودان، وذلك بهدف خلق فرص عمل زراعية لتحسين سُبل العيش لدى الشباب في الأرياف.

تكريم مزارعين في اليمن من ذوي الإلمام المتدني بالقراءة والكتابة، بعد إتمامهم تدريباً حول المهارات المالية، 2015

بناء قرية IGNITE في اليمن

كانت قرية سراح إحدى أفقر القرى وأكثرها ريفية في اليمن، إذ لم يكن لدى معظم القرويين دخل وكانوا على حافة المجاعة. في غضون أربعة أشهر فقط، تم تحويل الأرض الجافة إلى واحة خضراء تنتج الفواكه والخضار والبيض والدجاج.

كجزء من برنامج “سبارك” لإنشاء المشروعات الزراعية الريادية، قدّم اتحاد التعاون الزراعي (ACU) حلولاً محددة لسكان القرية، وذلك استناداً إلى بحث أجري على الأرض التي يعيشون عليها. قدّم الاتحاد تدريباً فنياً على المشروعات الريادية لمن سيصبحون فلاحين ليكون لديهم الأدوات اللازمة للتصرّف بأنفسهم.

تم بناء عشر أنفاق لدفيئات زراعية، وتمت إعادة البئر المحلي وتركيب مضخة مياه تعمل على الطاقة الشمسية لتسهيل جريان المياه النظيفة. ونتيجة لتلك الإجراءات، أصبح 33 رجلاً و27 امرأة يعرّفون عن أنفسهم بالروّاد الزراعيين وأصبحوا قادرين على بيع منتجاتهم في الأسواق المحلية لتحقيق الربح.

ما بدأ كمشروع صغير أصبح بسرعة نموذجاً يُحتذى به للعمل في المستقبل، وقد تم بناء المزيد من قرى IGNITE في مختلف أنحاء اليمن. وبعد ملاحظة هذا النجاح، انضمت وزارة الصناعة والتجارة إلى الجهود المبذولة لكسر الحواجز التي تواجه روّاد الأعمال اليمنيين عند تسجيل مشروعاتهم الريادية الصغيرة. في السابق، عانى روّاد الأعمال من حواجز البيروقراطية، لهذا، تم إطلاق نظام جديد “نظام النافذة الواحدة” لضمان ألا يحتاج روّاد الأعمال سوى لخطوة بسيطة ليصبحوا أصحاب مشروعات ريادية مُعترف بهم رسمياً.

نمت البذور الأولى في تربة القرية لتصبح سلسلة من الخطوات التي حملت أفراد القرية إلى المساهمة في الأمن الغذائي لمجتمعاتهم المحلية. كان أهل الريف الأمّيون اليمنيون يعيدون بناء مجتمعاتهم دون الحاجة إلى المساعدة الدولية.

زيت عباد الشمس يحد من زواج الأطفال في جنوب السودان

تستذكر لورين سيرفن، رائدة زراعية وأول مستشارة لـ”سبارك” لتطوير الأعمال في المنطقة قائلة: “في جنوب السودان، لم تكن ريادة الأعمال وظيفة حقيقية، فجميع الشباب أرادوا العمل في الحكومة أو في إحدى المنظمات الدولية غير الحكومية”.

وبهدف تعزيز مفهوم ريادة الأعمال بين شباب الريف، أطلقت “سبارك” سلسلة من المسابقات لأفضل خطط المشروعات الريادية والتي انتقل خلالها الشباب من خلق الأفكار إلى الحصول على التمويل.

عام 2013، فرّ إيمانويل بوجا بوديانغ من بلدته “كاجو كيجي” في ريف جنوب السودان عندما اندلعت هناك حرب أهلية. ادّى القتال القبَلي هناك إلى إحدى أكبر الكوارث الإنسانية في السنوات الأخيرة، حيث قُتِل حوالي 400 ألف شخص ونزح 12 مليون آخرين.

وخلال لجوئه في أوغندا، لاحظ إيمانويل أن معظم مزارع عباد الشمس الأوغندية تستخرج الزيت من ذلك النبات، فاستلهم من ذلك فكرة وعاد بها إلى بلدته. وبعد انضمامه إلى “سبارك”، تلقى تدريباً وتوجيهاً أهّله للفوز بمسابقة أفضل خطط الأعمال، فاستغل مبلغ الجائزة لشراء بذور عباد الشمس والمعدات اللازمة لمعالجة الزيت من نباتها. أصبح مشروعه الريادي الشركة الوحيدة العاملة في استخراج الزيوت النباتية في جنوب السودان.

استمرّ إيمانويل في جهوده وتعاون مع 500 مزارع وبائع تجزئة، ما وفّر وظائف للنساء والمقاتلين السابقين الذين وجدوا بعضاً من الحياة الطبيعية في منتصف الأزمة. ويقول إيمانويل في حديثه عام 2015: “أدّى إنتاج زيت عباد الشمس في “كاجو كيجي” إلى تحسين البيئة الاقتصادية للناس، وقاد ذلك إلى زيادة عدد الفتيات الملتحقات بالمدارس وزيادة فرص العمل، وهاذان عاملان هامّان لتقليل حالات زواج الأطفال”.

المرونة والقدرة على التكيّف

يتطلّب إطلاق المشروعات الريادية في أكثر البيئات تقلّباً التحلّي بمرونة كبيرة. احتاجت برامج “سبارك”، الداعمة لنمو القطاعات الزراعية في اليمن وجنوب السودان، إلى التكيّف بشكل مستمر، وفي بعض الأحيان، أجبر الصراع الكبير المكاتب المحلية على الإغلاق المؤقت، وفي النهاية، إنهاء عملياتها في اليمن عام 2018.

ورغم اتفاق السلام الذي تم في جنوب السودان عام 2018 والذي جلب موجة مستمرة من الهدوء في المنطقة، ناضل إيمانويل للحفاظ على استمرار عمل مشروع عباد الشمس بسبب نقص التمويل. لكن روّاد الأعمال هم أشخاص مثابرون ويعملون بجد لإعادة بناء مستقبلهم. الآن، ومع المهارات التي اكتسبها من التعلّم وممارسة ريادة الأعمال، يعمل إيمانويل كمستشار في تطوير المشروعات الريادية لصالح شريك “سبارك” المحلي “بريميوم أرغو كونسلت”.

قطف الروّاد الزراعيون، الذين شاركوا في برامج “سبارك”، ثمار عملهم، وتم إطلاق دورة من التدريس والتعلّم. ستنتقل المهارات التي تعلمها هؤلاء عبر الأجيال، ما سيخلق اكتفاءً ذاتياً يصعب تحقيقه في أوقات الحروب.

Close
Close
Close
October 17, 2019

Between wars, rural farmers in Yemen and South Sudan become entrepreneurs


Celebrating 25 Years of SPARK


Rural farmers and illiterate people living in fragile or conflict affected regions often bear the brunt of poverty, compared to the rest of the population. Both in Yemen and South Sudan, people have long faced food insecurity and a lack of job opportunities, not because of a lack of arable land to grow crops, but because of the ongoing political instability surrounding them.

In 2012, SPARK began planting the first seeds of our agri-business support programmes in Yemen and South Sudan, with the aim of creating agricultural jobs to improve the livelihoods of young, rural people.

Farmers in Yemen with low literacy levels awarded after completing the financial skills training, 2015

Building the IGNITE village in Yemen

Goma’at Saraah used to be one of the poorest, most rural villages in Yemen. Most villagers had no income and were on the brink of starvation. Within just four months, the previously dry land was transformed into a green oasis, producing fruits and vegetables, eggs and chickens.

As part of SPARK’s Agri-business Creation programme, the Agriculture Cooperation Union (ACU) provided specific solutions for the people of Goma’at Saraah, based on research of the land they live on. The ACU provided technical business training to soon-to-be farmers so that they had the tools to take matters into their own hands.

Ten greenhouses tunnels were built, the local well reinstated and a solar water pump installed in order to facilitate clean water circulation. As a result, 33 men and 27 women now call themselves agri-entrepreneurs, and are able to sell their produce at local markets for a profit.

What had started as a small scale project rapidly became a model for future work and more IGNITE villages were built across Yemen. Noticing the success, the Ministry of Industry and Trade joined efforts to break down barriers facing Yemeni entrepreneurs in registering their small businesses. Previously plagued by bureaucracy, a new ‘one window system’ was kickstarted to ensure that entrepreneurs needed to complete a simple process in order to become officially recognised business-owners.

The first seedling that grew from the soil in Goma’at Saraah had sparked a chain of events that saw individuals contributing to the food security of their communities. Rural, illiterate Yemenis were rebuilding their own societies, without the need for international aid.

Sunflower oil reducing child marriage in South Sudan

“In South Sudan, entrepreneurship was not considered a job. All the young people wanted to work for the government or an international NGO,” recalls Lauren Servin, an agri-entrepreneur and SPARK’s first business development consultant in the region.

In order to boost the concept of entrepreneurship among rural youth, SPARK launched a series of business plan competitions, whereby young people were taken from ideation to access to finance.

In 2013, Emmanuel Bugga Budyang fled his hometown of Kajo Keji, in rural South Sudan, when the civil war broke out. The tribal fighting led to one of the largest humanitarian disasters in recent years, with nearly 400,000 people killed and over 12 million displaced.

While seeking refuge in Uganda, Emmanuel noticed vast Ugandan sunflower farms extracting the oil. Inspired, he returned to Kajo Keji with a plan. Joining SPARK, he received training and coaching and went on to win the business plan competition, which allowed him to purchase sunflower seeds and equipment to process the flower’s oil. His business became the sole vegetable oil extraction company operating in South Sudan.

Emmanuel went on to collaborate with 500 farmers and retailers, providing jobs for women and ex-combatants, who found some normality in the middle of crisis. “Introducing sunflower production to Kajo Keji has improved people’s economic environment…This led to an increasing number of girls enrolled in school and more employment opportunities; two important factors which will reduce the number of child marriages,” said Emmanuel in 2015.

Resilience and flexibility

Doing business in the world’s most volatile environments requires huge resilience. SPARK’s programmes supporting the growth of the agricultural sectors in Yemen and South Sudan needed to constantly adapt and sometimes heavy conflict forced local offices to temporarily shut down and finally close operations in Yemen in 2018.

Despite the 2018 peace deal in South Sudan, which brought a sustained wave of calm to the region, Emmanuel too struggled to keep his sunflower business operational due to a lack of investment. However, entrepreneurs are resilient people who work hard to rebuild their futures. Now, with the skills he acquired from learning and doing business, Emmanuel is employed as a Business Development Advisor for SPARK’s local partner, Premium Agro Consult.

Agri-entrepreneurs that have been part of SPARK’s programmes, saw the direct fruits of their labour and a cycle of teaching and learning has been set in motion. The skills they’ve learnt will be passable through the generations, creating a self-sufficiency that is so hard to acquire in times of war.